27
May
07

Fun With Fonts

It recently dawned on me that the font which I have chosen to use here may not be the font which some readers may be seeing. There’s the usual perfectly logical explanation for this. The default font for the WordPress theme I am using is Verdana, whereas most other themes use Lucida Sans Unicode. However, on the computer I normally use there is an identical font with a nearly identical name–Lucida Sans. That is the font I’ve been designating via html in my posts, since I prefer it over Verdana. On other computers, however, such as the one I am using at the moment, the body text shows up as Times New Roman, a font which doesn’t really fit the visual theme of the blog too well.

I’m using Lucida Sans Unicode in this post, so it should display properly on most computers. Of course, now I’m going to have to go back and change the font for each individual post. Such is the price you pay for trying to use a different font from the default designated by the theme’s CSS code, I suppose. The same problem occured with my LiveJournal, as I found out, but I have since managed to fix that relatively painlessly.

Kudos to those who have managed to read this far. Also, my apologies for the lack of interesting material this week (or indeed any material, for that matter). I’ll try to be better about that in the future.

Update: I just realized that the entries appear in Verdana when listed in categories (i.e. when you click on one of the categories on the list to the left). Unfortunately, I have no clue how to fix that, or if I can fix it at all. Damn you, WordPress…

0 Responses to “Fun With Fonts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

